News and a Restaurant Review

Hi everybody! Well, it’s been a busy couple of months for me. Lots of changes and things happening. Some of it was good, some bad, some sad, and some of it just is what it is. Anyway, I’m back and beginning to love life again (at least at this moment). 🙂 Today is a lovely day here in my neck of the woods. Oh, and those woods have changed a little! I’m no longer in southwest Washington state; I’m in northwest Oregon. This is only a move of about thirteen miles, so I still get the same weather I did at my old house, and the terrain looks about the same. Now, though, I live up in the hills a little (about one-thousand feet elevation). I’ve heard that this spot is almost in the Coast Range, and that if one knew where to look, one could probably see the official beginning of that range from here. My old house was at the bottom of the valley floor, in Kelso Washington. I think that Kelso is sometimes considered to be in the very northern end of the Willamette Valley. It’s definitely in a valley, though! My old neighborhood was the lowest spot in the area. Once, when it rained a lot in the early Spring, we had to evacuate because of flood risk. No rain today, though! It is about seventy-two degrees Fahrenheit, with blue sky and almost no clouds. Wow, it is so nice: just the perfect temperature and a little whisp of breeze. The only thing I could complain about is that the breeze coming in the window is a little smokey, but since I am the one who decided to burn trash earlier, I can’t really complain to anyone but myself!

What’s been going on in the craft, cooking and general week-end activity realm? I got Thai take-out from Hart C’s Thai in Longview Washington last night, and it was pretty good. I got the Pad See Ew with Shrimp, and two Egg Rolls to share with my mom. The noodles had kind of congealed by the time I got them home, but they still tasted pretty good. Pad See Ew is a stir-fried rice noodle dish with broccoli and scrambled egg, and it has a sweet and salty sauce flavored with soy sauce and a little sugar. The shrimp tasted fine to me, but my mom said she got a couple that tasted a little like iodine. The egg rolls were fine, but a little on the over-cooked side. Still though, we were pretty happy to eat it last night, and I think the noodles were even better today after being microwaved with a couple spoons of water mixed in (it kind of loosened them up so they didn’t stick together so much). I think Hart C’s food was suffering a little last night because they were busier than usual. They are the only Thai restaurant in town, as far as I know, so even though they are not always the best Thai I’ve eaten (that honor would have to go to the Thai Orchid restaurants on Burnside and Barbur in Portland), they are definitely not the worst. For a Thai craving in this area, they are the best option I know of. Unless one makes their own. That’s something I want to practice. Making yummy noodles until I get them just right? Oh, that sounds like a project I could get enthusiastic about. 🙂

Here’s the contact information for Hart C’s: 3171 Ocean Beach Hwy., Longview, WA 98632. (360) 425-6292. http://hartcsthai.com/

And Thai Orchid: 2231 W Burnside St. Portland, OR 97210. (503) 226-4542.

10075 SW Barbur Blvd; Portland, OR 97219. (503) 452-2544.

http://www.thaiorchidrestaurant.com

About kebbycrafts

I love to knit, craft, cook, read, and watch movies...and then blog about it! I might also blog about other things as they come up; I figure anything one might do for fun on a week-end is fair game. If this sounds like something you'd be interested in reading, please check out my blog on Wordpress.
This entry was posted in Restaurants, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

