A Restaurant Review and More About Cookies

First, a follow-up on yesterday’s post (read the whole post here):

I mentioned La Hacienda Real Grill in Longview Washington. They deserve more than that little mention. We go out for Mexican food in this area more often than I’d like to admit, but Hacienda is a consistent favorite. We’ve tried a lot of places (I’ll talk about other good ones another time), but they are one of the best. The food is consistently fresh, high quality, hot, delicious and tastes as if it was made with care. When it’s Mother’s Day, Father’s Day, someone’s birthday, or any day we want great, special Mexican food, Hacienda is the place.

Some of my favorite dishes there are tamales, chili rellenos, taco salads, Enchiladas Jalisco, veggie burrito, and spinach enchiladas. My boyfriend likes the fajitas, Macho Burrito…and pretty much everything he’s tried there. My mom likes the Macho Burrito, chili rellenos…and ditto on the “pretty much everything.” Friday, I tried the Carnitas de Res, which was on the dinner special. It was really good! It had nice pieces of beef, grilled with onions and green peppers. It was grilled just to that perfect stage where the meat is a little seared around the edges, the onions are a little browned and almost a little caramelized in spots, and the pepper is just beginning to char. Oh, wow. With rice, beans, guacamole, and homemade tortillas; I was in heaven! That brings me to the other thing I have to mention about Hacienda: if you order something with tortillas on the side, and they ask if you want flour or corn, know that the flour ones are homemade and awesome! Sometimes I still get the corn tortillas because they are good too, but the flour ones are always deliciously soft, buttery and delectable. They are hard to say no to. Also, the dinner was a lot of food, so I took half home with me. Everything reheated beautifully for lunch the next day, even those nice tortillas.

So, enough gushing about my favorite Mexican restaurant. Here’s their information:

La Hacienda Real Grill, 1124 Washington Way, Longview, WA 98632. Phone: (360) 636-3031. As far as I know, they don’t have a web site.

Oh, on price range I’d say they’re kind of in the middle: if you go for lunch or order a taco salad or small combination, you can eat for $7 – $10 per person, if you go for one of the fanciest dinners, they might be as much as $18. I don’t order alcohol, so drinks aren’t factored into these prices, nor is the fact the you may be able to take half of most dinners home.

A second note on yesterday’s post:

I mentioned substituting canola oil for half the butter measure in the chocolate chip cookies. In case anyone’s wondering, I do that because canola oil has less unhealthy saturated fat, and more healthy monounsaturated fat than butter. Cookies wouldn’t be cookies without some butter, but, as I learned from Cooking Light Magazine (link to their website here), in drop cookies, you can substitute canola oil for half the butter without sacrificing taste. You get a cooky with a little bit higher ratio of healthy fats, and no noticeable difference (except maybe a little more crunch, as I mentioned yesterday).

Hopefully that will help balance out those buttery tortillas from Hacienda Real! 🙂 If you’d like to read more about different types of fat, Cooking Light has a good article here.

About kebbycrafts

I love to knit, craft, cook, read, and watch movies...and then blog about it! I might also blog about other things as they come up; I figure anything one might do for fun on a week-end is fair game. If this sounds like something you'd be interested in reading, please check out my blog on Wordpress.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Restaurants and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

