Baby Snuggle Sack

I’m back! Sorry it’s been a while between posts, but lots of things have been happening. Anyway, I’m thinking about knitting and yarn right now, since I just finished a project. It’s a Baby Snuggle Sack:

I put the lip balm in there to give a size reference. By the way, the lip balm is Desert Essence Lip Rescue Moisturizing with Jojoba Oil, and it’s my favorite lip balm of all time. It’s just a little minty and very mild and moisturizing, and it doesn’t have sunblock in it. I know putting sunblock on your lips is a good idea, but if I do it all the time, my lips peel. So, I like to have an everyday lip balm with no sunblock. Then, on days when it’s sunny, I put on sunblock. Living in rainy SW Washington, this seems to work fine.

I used Bernat Pipsqueek Yarn in Funny Bunny Print and the Knit Baby Cocoon pattern from the Bernat website. Here’s a close-up of the fabric:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So, back to yarn. Red Heart Yarn has a new line of yarns in school colors. Each skein has two alternating colors: red and silver, green and yellow, green and white, etc. I looked at them, and I thought that they were sort of a neat idea, but I was disappointed when I felt them. They feel like very rough, hard acrylic that would not be very fun to knit or to wear in a hat, scarf, or anything. But, that got me to thinking: one could knit in school colors using any yarn you want. Simply choose a yarn you like that comes in the appropriate colors. Then choose a pattern (I’m especially thinking of hats and scarves for watching games outside and giving as gifts), and knit away, doing color change stripes wherever you like. Lionbrand Yarn had a short but fun blog post on this subject. They take three popular yarns, and list them by common school colors. Here’s a link to it: http://blog.lionbrand.com/2011/08/15/school-spirit-yarn-shades/
Anyway, I think a Lewis and Clark College black and orange scarf might be in my future, but first I’d like to finish up some of my works in progress!

About kebbycrafts

I love to knit, craft, cook, read, and watch movies...and then blog about it! I might also blog about other things as they come up; I figure anything one might do for fun on a week-end is fair game. If this sounds like something you'd be interested in reading, please check out my blog on Wordpress.
This entry was posted in Knitting Projects, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baby Snuggle Sack

  1. PepperBento says:

    Baby snuggle sack?………but it looks so comfy and soft! I want one too hehehe! Where’re the adult ones?

    • kebbycrafts says:

      Haha, thanks! It was very soft and snuggley. I’ll bet you could make an adult one…if you had the stamina for all that knitting! I guess it wouldn’t be that different from doing an afghan. Thanks for reading! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

