Chocolatey Fudgy Brownies

July 4th was a good day. I slept in a bit, then had a nice talk on the phone with my mom while mixing up brownies! Here’s what they looked like after baking:

The recipe is “Classic Fudge-Walnut Brownies” from the September 2011 issue of Cooking Light Magazine. I pretty much made the recipe as written; except instead of the bittersweet chocolate chunks, I used Nestle Toll House Dark Chocolate Morsels. Oh, my goodness! These are some seriously chocolatey brownies! And very fudgy and great texture. Well, maybe a little bit on the soft crumbly side, but it didn’t slow anyone down.

I think they were a little soft and crumbly because they were barely cooked through. But, this just made them fudgy, and yummy. I had sort of an adventure getting them cooked, though. The recipe says to use a 9-inch square metal baking pan. I don’t have one of those, so, I used a square Corningware ceramic casserole that is about 9 inches across. Then, I checked them after 22 minutes like the recipe said. Well, they were nowhere close to done because I’d forgotten that ceramic doesn’t cook things like metal, so they needed quite a bit more time. Plus, my oven tends to run a little cool, so when I had it set at 350-degrees Fahrenheit, I was getting something closer to 340 degrees. But, I was afraid I would overcook the brownies, and they would be dry and chewy, not fudgy (I sort of have a history of doing that with brownies). So, I think I stuck a toothpick in these every five minutes for twenty minutes after the first 22 minutes! Good grief! I was beginning to feel like the OCD Cook! But, it paid off. They were really nicely done. Maybe a little tiny bit doughy, but not much…really just enough to make them fudgy like everyone really wants anyway. I took them to the pot-luck barbeque at our friends’ house, and only brought two little ones home.

The recipe says to cut these brownies into 20 pieces, and surprisingly enough, I think I agree. They are so chocolaty and dense and rich with chocolate chunks and walnuts, they are almost close to chocolate fudge or truffles. They’re still brownies, but they are definitely headed in the truffle direction. Also, since I am allergic to chocolate, I have to eat them in small quantities. When I’m going to eat a little chocolate, though, these will be a recipe to keep around for sure.

Sorry it’s kind of blurry. I’m only including it because it shows the fudgy texture…in spite of the blur!

Here’s one more picture:

The rest of the 4th was good too. I got in our friends’ new above ground pool (cold, but fun!), hung out, visited, ate a barbequed hot dog, and had a great time. Later, we set off little fireworks and lit sparklers while watching the bigger fireworks that other people in the neighborhood lit off. I wouldn’t do those bigger ones myself, but they were fun to watch! We got a pretty good show from right here in our neighborhood. Plus, Summer has finally arrived here! At last, it was sunny and warm. Hope your 4th was good too! 🙂

About kebbycrafts

I love to knit, craft, cook, read, and watch movies...and then blog about it! I might also blog about other things as they come up; I figure anything one might do for fun on a week-end is fair game. If this sounds like something you'd be interested in reading, please check out my blog on Wordpress.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

