Summer Socks

It’s June 22nd. Officially, it’s been Summer for three days now. The first two days felt and looked like Summer. Today, it looks like early Spring (sprinkling in the morning, then just enough lightness in the cloud cover at mid-day to give you a little hope, only to be followed by real rain about dinner time). The only thing Summer-like about it is that I had to open the window so the house wouldn’t get too hot while I was doing laundry. So, I’m writing by the open window with the cool rain-smelling damp air coming in. It’s kind of pleasant, but also kind of weird.  I’m not used to it being warm enough to have the windows open while it’s raining. Good thing we have wide eves!

So, what is there to do inside? Why knitting of course! (Actually, there’s still laundry and vacuuming to do, but we’re going to ignore those for the moment…). I’ve been working on a pair of socks lately. Again, I’m using a self-patterning Plymouth Sockotta yarn. It’s a green/yellow/blue/brown striping and patterning colorway that looks like Summer to me. The pattern I’m using is published in a little leaflet by Bernat. It’s called Ankle Socks, so I thought it would be a good choice for those summery colors and a yarn with a high percentage of cotton. When I followed the pattern, though, it came out to be what I’d call a medium length sock, not an ankle sock. It’s a nice sock though.

Image

It fits my foot really well, and, it’s cute and comfy. It might be a little too warm for normal Summer weather, but for a Summer day like today, it might be just fine. Also, I think they’ll be great for Spring and Autumn. Now, I just have to finish the second one!

Image

The heel’s done…now it’s all down hill from here, right? 🙂

About kebbycrafts

I love to knit, craft, cook, read, and watch movies...and then blog about it! I might also blog about other things as they come up; I figure anything one might do for fun on a week-end is fair game. If this sounds like something you'd be interested in reading, please check out my blog on Wordpress.
This entry was posted in Knitting Projects, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

