Whole Wheat Gingersnaps

Even cooky eaters who normally don’t like gingersnaps like these Whole Wheat Gingersnaps.

A couple of weeks ago, the baking mood hit me. At first, I thought that I wanted to make gingerbread. I re-read the section on gingerbread in the King Arthur Flour 200th Anniversary Cookbook, and, of course, that only made me want to make it more. By the way, my mom got me that King Arthur Flour Cookbook for my birthday last year, and I love it! I haven’t tried a lot of the recipes in it yet, but they all look really good. I made the Fresh Fruit Cobbler recipe (page 311) using blueberries last September, and it was very good! I only made a few changes: I added an extra cup of berries, and left out the butter in the fruit filling. For the crust, I used half whole wheat flour and half all-purpose, replaced the white sugar with brown, and added some cinnamon to the dry ingredients. Then, I continued with the recipe as written, cooking it in a slightly larger baking dish in order to accommodate the larger amount of fruit.

Besides the recipes, I love all the notes, information and history which the authors include in this King Arthur Cookbook. I love all the history in the Festival Fare and Gingerbread sections toward the end of the Cakes and Crumbles chapter. Whenever I look at it, I want to start celebrating extra holidays, like Twelfth Night, or Fat Tuesday, so I’ll have more opportunities to try out the recipes for those holidays.

This time though, I ended up making Gingersnap cookies. I did quite a bit of tinkering with the recipe, so, by the time I was finished with it,  it was probably just “inspired by” the recipe in the book. They turned out really well, though: crunchy/chewy texture, and nice flavor with plenty of ginger and brown sugar. Here’s the recipe for what I made:

  • 6 tablespoons butter, slightly softened
  • 6 tablespoons canola oil
  •  1 cup of brown sugar, packed
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • 2 and 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt (increase to 1/2 teaspoon if you are using unsalted butter)
  • 1 tablespoon ground ginger
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • granulated sugar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. In a large bowl, cream the butter, oil and sugar together, beating until light. Add the egg and molasses and beat until fluffy. In a smaller bowl, stir together the next six ingredients (flour through nutmeg). Add the dry ingredients to the butter mixture and stir until blended.

Scoop out by rounded teaspoonfuls and roll into balls with your hands. Dip the tops of the balls into the granulated sugar, and place on greased or oiled cooky sheets. (If your pan is not non-stick, it might be helpful to line it with oiled or greased parchment paper). Leave an inch or two between the cookies, since they might spread some.

Bake for 10 to 12 minutes.

These were a hit with everyone who tried them, and I liked that they were whole grain and contained less saturated fat than many cookies. I’m sure I’ll make them again.

About kebbycrafts

I love to knit, craft, cook, read, and watch movies...and then blog about it! I might also blog about other things as they come up; I figure anything one might do for fun on a week-end is fair game. If this sounds like something you'd be interested in reading, please check out my blog on Wordpress.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

