Shrimp and Grits Casserole

Hiya All,

I just finished making a recipe that I think some of you might like. I can’t take credit for making it up, but I did find it and execute it successfully. That’s something. Plus, it’s good! The recipe is Shrimp and Grits Casserole from Cooking Light Magazine. Here’s a link tothe recipe: http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/shrimp-grits-casserole-10000001714620/

And here’s my version of it:

I made a few changes to the recipe, but nothing drastic: Instead of canned chicken broth and salt, I used 3/4 cup water plus 3/4 teaspoon chicken broth paste, heated and stirred together with the milk. I used polenta instead of grits, and all I had for cheese was 2 or 3 tablespoons of shredded cheddar. Also, I didn’t have any chives, so I used a largish pinch of chopped dried garlic. Oh, and I was using cooked shrimp, so instead of chopping them and putting them in the casserole, I put them on top for the last five minutes of cooking. I guess I did change the recipe some after all. 🙂 And…oh, I oiled the baking dish with extra virgin olive oil instead of spraying it with cooking spray. I don’t own any cooking spray and don’t plan on. I think it smells funny, tastes funny, is bad for one’s pans, and is probably less healthful than a thin coating of olive or canola oil in all instances.

It came out quite nicely. I wasn’t sure that I would put hot sauce on it, but it is really nicely complimented by a splash of Frank’s Red Hot Hot Sauce. The cheddar cheese worked fine. Next time, I’ll probably try it with parmesan. I might not use a whole half of a cup though, since it seems to be okay with less.

The only complaint I can think of is that the recipe probably won’t serve six people if they all eat it like I do. I’d say it serves three or four at most, so if you are watching the nutrition facts, you’ll need to multiply a little.

About kebbycrafts

I love to knit, craft, cook, read, and watch movies...and then blog about it! I might also blog about other things as they come up; I figure anything one might do for fun on a week-end is fair game. If this sounds like something you'd be interested in reading, please check out my blog on Wordpress.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

