Blogging Again

Well, it has been so long since I wrote anything here. I know my droves of loyal fans are probably feeling very deprived! Haha. On the other hand, if you have been reading these posts, and have come back after my long break, thanks very much. 🙂

I roasted vegetables again tonight, and they turned out very well. I did broccoli and carrots. I think roasting is my new favorite way to prepare carrots. This was my first try at roasted broccoli, but I was happily surprised by how nicely it turned out:

Image

I started out with four carrots, so, as you can see, they were pretty popular with me and my dinner companion. The broccoli is very good too, though. I think we’ll be eating it re-heated tomorrow.  I got this recipe from a favorite cookbook of mine, Mollie Katzen’s Vegetable Heaven, by Mollie Katzen (Hyperion, 1997). I did them pretty much as she suggests, using extra virgin olive oil in the pans, putting in the cut up vegetables (I added salt and pepper at this point), stirring to evenly coat them with the oil, and then roasting them in a 375-degree oven. She says to cook the broccoli 20 to 25 minutes, and the carrots about 30 minutes. For us, (and this batch of vegetables), I added about 5 minutes to each of those times. Today, I roasted the carrots and broccoli in separate pans, and took them out of the oven as they finished cooking. Sometimes though, I will do a variety of veggies together in one large pan, and  take out individual pieces or types of vegetables when they are done. Either method works just fine. So, until next time, enjoy your veggies!

About kebbycrafts

I love to knit, craft, cook, read, and watch movies...and then blog about it! I might also blog about other things as they come up; I figure anything one might do for fun on a week-end is fair game. If this sounds like something you'd be interested in reading, please check out my blog on Wordpress.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

