Blue and Grey Socks Again

It’s the Blue and Grey Socks again! I know, I’ve already posted a picture of these. I’m going to talk more about them, though, so I’m putting the picture up again, so you don’t have to scroll back and forth to see what I’m talking about. As you’ve probably gathered, these are sock attempt #3, and I’m proud of them. The pattern is A Classic Sock from the book Folk Socks, by Nancy Bush. The yarn is Sockotta by Plymouth Yarn, (it’s 45% cotton, 40% wool, and 15% nylon). I was very happy with Bush’s pattern, and, besides that, I loved the section where she takes you step by step through the process of making a sock. It was so helpful. It’s almost as if you have an experienced knitter right there beside you, leading you through the process and anticipating questions you’ll have along the way. Folk Socks also has some gorgeous, more advanced sock patterns in it. I haven’t tried any of those yet, but they look great. And if they are written as well as this pattern is, they would probably be a great way to try a new technique like color or lacework. I highly recommend the book, and I heard that there’s a new edition coming out this December or January. Yay! I’m already planning to give my copy to my mom and get myself the new edition. Of course, I’ll let her look at the new one, and if she likes it, she may also get a copy of the new edition as a gift. The Sockotta yarn was very easy to work with (I don’t think there was a single knot in either ball), and in the sock, it is very warm and comfy. I did notice that it’s quite tightly twisted. As I was knitting the socks, the yarn would get more tightly twisted and start to twist in on itself. I would stand on a chair and let the sock hang to the floor and spin for a while to undo it. So, maybe it was my knitting method that twisted it up. I’m not sure (if any readers know about this, please comment and tell me what you know!). The finished sock is just fine, but, even in the stitches, the yarn is still pretty firmly twisted. This isn’t a problem, but I’m curious whether it’s just the nature of the yarn, or if it’s something I did.    Anyhoo, as Tigger said in Winnie the Pooh “TTFN: Ta-Ta For Now!”

About kebbycrafts

I love to knit, craft, cook, read, and watch movies...and then blog about it! I might also blog about other things as they come up; I figure anything one might do for fun on a week-end is fair game. If this sounds like something you'd be interested in reading, please check out my blog on Wordpress.
This entry was posted in Knitting Projects and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

