Scrambled Eggs

Monday, I tried a new scrambled egg method. I think the first time I heard about it was a long time ago on the “America’s Test Kitchen” T.V. show on PBS. They had one of the ladies (I think it was Bridget) demonstrate this method (if I remember right, they called it the French Method) in one pan, while Chris made their favorite scrambled eggs in another pan. Bridget stirred and stirred over low heat, while Chris stirred his eggs for a short time over much higher heat. His came out in large just-firm curds which they happily ate after she had given up on her’s (which they said still weren’t done yet). They were big fans of the hot and quick method, and I’ve always had good results with it too, so I never felt the need to try the other way.

Then, about a week ago, I read about Russian scrambled eggs on the Global Table Adventure website. If you’re a foodie and you haven’t checked out this website, it’s definitely worth a look (link to it here). The author, Sasha Martin, is blogging about her Global Table Adventure where she cooks one meal from each country in the world. She does one country per week and includes a little information and pictures of each. I love it! I think it’s an awesome idea, and I sort of wish I had the guts and time cook each and every country too. For now though, I’m addicted to the website, and starting to pick some of her recipes to try.

The Russian menu looks really good (link here). First, I decided to try the eggs (link here). Actually, mine were closer to the ones Gordon Ramsay does on the video on the egg recipe page (direct link to Ramsay’s video here), since I didn’t have caviar and didn’t want to put the eggs back in the shells.

Here’s what I made:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter, cut into at least 2 pieces
  • about 1 teaspoon light sour cream (maybe a little more)
  • little pinch of garlic powder (this works great, but if you have fresh chives or green onions, by all means, use one of those)
  • salt and freshly ground black pepper

Put the eggs and butter in a small pot, then start heating the pot over medium to medium-high heat while whisking and stirring the eggs. Continue whisking and cooking, turning down the heat to medium and occasionally moving the pot off the heat so that the eggs cook slowly and remain creamy. This takes a few minutes, but not too long. If cooked egg builds up on the spatula, tap it on the side of the pot so it’ll go back in the eggs. Once they are cooked, but still creamy and not dry, add the sour cream and sprinkle in the garlic powder. Stir some more, then sprinkle with the salt and pepper and serve on top of toast. Or by themselves on a plate. Yum. They are soft and moist, but not raw, with a great flavor and texture.

Be sure to watch the video of Ramsay doing them. It’s fun and helpful.

Link to the America’s Test Kitchen website here. (I enjoy the America’s Test Kitchen T.V. show, radio show, and magazine, but I don’t know much about their website. I’ve always been put off by the fact that you have to pay to see much of it. It does look interesting though).

About kebbycrafts

I love to knit, craft, cook, read, and watch movies...and then blog about it! I might also blog about other things as they come up; I figure anything one might do for fun on a week-end is fair game. If this sounds like something you'd be interested in reading, please check out my blog on Wordpress.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Scrambled Eggs

  1. PepperBento says:

    Mmmm! That Russian version of scrambled eggs sounds lovely.
    I like the idea of them being properly cooked because I’m not really keen on the “wetness” of the pretty raw stuff.

    I agree about the ATK website, it is the weakest link out of all of their media, the show and their radio show is great but their website seems to be one big advert since you can’t really surf much without bumping into a limit you have to pay for!
    I have to say I don’t like the idea of the “trial” where you need to put your credit card details in and if you don’t cancel it right away will have to pay for the membership!

Leave a Reply

